Last updated on November 30, 2015 | by Aet Suvari0
How to Cancel your eHarmony Membership
Here’s how to turn off automatic renewal, close your account and delete your eHarmony UK profile.
Maybe you’ve found that special someone you were looking for. Maybe you just want to take a break from dating for a while. Maybe you feel disillusioned with the whole dating process (we really hope you don’t though!). Whatever the reason, here’s what to do if you feel like you want to cancel your eHarmony membership.
Getting a refund
First things first. If you feel like you’d like to end your subscription with eHarmony after you’ve recently signed up, you should know that if you cancel your purchase before midnight of the 14th day following your paid subscription date, you are entitled to a full refund.
Fair play to eHarmony for offering this and we wish more dating sites offered a refund service as we often don’t know if a site’s for us until we’ve tried it for a week or two.
In order to receive the refund, you should call eHarmony’s Customer Service at 0800 028 0308 (Mon-Fri 10.30AM – 7.30PM; Sat 9AM – 6PM).
If you’ve missed the 14 day deadline or your subscription has already renewed, you can no longer receive a refund. Nor is this an option if you subscribed to a payment plan (for example the 3 month or 6 month plans where you pay for the subscription in monthly instalments), which means that the remaining payments will still be charged.
Still, canceling your subscription will stop automatic renewal, while you can still keep using the site as a subscriber until the subscription term runs out.
In order to do that, you should:
- a) log in to your eHarmony account
- b) At the top of the page you’ll find My Settings under which you’ll find Account Settings. Click it.
- c) At the bottom of the page you’ll see a link ‘Cancel My Subscription’. Click it and go through the process.
Bear in mind that this will only affect auto-renewal and won’t cancel your current subscription plan.
You can check that auto-renewal is turned off when you go to Account Settings and scroll to the bottom of the page. All your subscription information is stored there and it will also tell you when your subscription is expiring (if you’ve turned auto-renewal off) or renewing (if automatic renewal is turned on).
Closing your eHarmony account
Should you wish to close your account completely, you should also visit ‘Account Settings’. After you’ve cancelled your subscription (using steps above above), there will be a button ‘Close Account’. Click on it and go through the process – again, bear in mind that if you’re on a payment plan subscription, you have to wait until all payments have been completed, before you can close your account.
If you close your account, all your matches will be closed, the communication and your profile information will no longer be available to them and you won’t receive new matches. However, it does not mean that the whole account will be automatically deleted. That means that should you ever wish to return to eHarmony, you’ll simply need to log back in with your account details and your profile information, photos and answers you’ve given to the sign-up questionnaire will still be there and you won’t have to start over from scratch.
Deleting your information
Should you still wish to completely delete your account from eHarmony you should still first close your account and then send an email request to firstname.lastname@example.org, subject line: Delete My Account Information. In the body of the email request to have all of your personal information deleted. It will then take eHarmony around 10 business days to process your deletion request.
Cancel eHarmony membership: The bottom line
You should know that eHarmony – like most other online dating sites – tends to renew your paid subscription automatically. So in order to protect yourself from unwanted subscription charges, turn auto-renewal off. You can turn it back on any time if you wish to do so. Ending the subscription plan and closing your account won’t lose your profile information, contacts and communication, so you can come back any time. Should you wish to delete all that, you need to get in touch through email.
So that’s how to cancel your eHarmony UK membership – we hope you’ve found it useful and if you’re looking for another dating site to join then be sure to check out our Top 10 UK dating Site reviews to help you decide where to try next.